Its All But Done

But I don’t have pictures.  St. Brigid had the final stitches knit last night.  I started weaving in the ends, but then got sidetracked and stopped.  I’ll finish weaving in ends tonight.  Then I have to figure out what in the world to do with the neckline.  I have several outstanding problems with St. Brigid:

  1. Its huge.  The body fits okay, but its really long and well isn’t exactly flattering to my womenly hips.
  2. The neckline is super huge and when I put the braided band on, it flops and flips and doesn’t lay flat.  I have to figure out something to fix this or the sweater isn’t wearable.  I’m thinking I may pick up stitches and knit in stockinette stitch a hem to sew down.  The extra weight might just make the neckline wearable.  Right now this is the only feasible solution my overworked brain is coming up with.

I've got my Sled ready to get to work tomorrow

I have no pictures to share of it yet, this weekend was a bit of a fuddle muddle.  We went to here this band play, Toubab Krew on Friday night, didn’t get home until 2 in the morning and i couldn’t fall asleep until after 5.  Saturday was basically a wash as I was exhausted and super grumpy.  Sunday was your normal Sunday except all our errands had to be run and the day passed by quickly with not a whole lot of fun being accomplished. There was no weaving, very little knitting, but much contemplation of my next project.  I think I’m going to steer away from anything that has to “fit” for a while.  So I may start my mom’s tablecloth or find myself a shawl pattern to knit.  I keep disappointing myself with sweaters so I think its time for a long break.

We are bracing for the storm of the century here in St. Louis.  The sky is falling and we’d better stock up on all the essentials.  Or so the news would have us believe. I don’t doubt it good be bad, they are predicting ice and snow in possible great accumulations, but it cracks me up how they can embellish a story so much before the event actually happens.  So if I disappear for the next 45 days its because I can’t get out of my house beause of all this yet to fall snow.  Cheerio.

I refused to be a sled dog, I like my couch.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Its All But Done

  1. Mr. Puffy says:

    Give it time ~ sometimes when a sweater doesn’t come out exactly as we envisioned it’s a disappointment. But if you put it aside for a bit then you will like it better because you will have had time to readjust. This will be a great “going out to the movies” cozy warm sweater.

    We saw a working sled dog kennel while in Alaska. So interesting. Who’s that lazy guy on the couch – LOL

  2. Kathy says:

    Just make sure you have a good pattern and yarn before it starts.

    And when you run out of yarn, blog for help. 🙂

  3. Carrie K says:

    Wise choice, Django.

    Bummer about the fit! Hopefully you can fix the neckline and the shape will grow on you.

  4. Sonya says:

    I can’t wait to see your St. Brigid! My neckline was too big too. I picked up stitches inside the braid and did a 1×1 ribbing to fill it. Not exactly the look I was going for, but I wear it all the time. I’d like to knit a fitted version someday.

Leave a Reply

