Useless Knitting

I’m in the mood to knit useless things, I really enjoyed making the baby pacifier clips, they were quick and satisfying and well I must admit I love Susan Anderson’s books.  I have all three, and am anxious to get her new book Spud & Chloe.  So right now I’m making the Cupcake tea set out of her Itty Bitty Nursery book. 

I also just knit the Bird’s Nest Pincushion from Closely Knit.

Its fun being useless every now and then.

I’m also feeling the call of the doily again. I may start my mom’s tablecloth soon as I’m down to a year and a few months to get it finished for their 50th.

And in weaving news, I’m working on a log-cabin table runner, which I hope to make a matching set of placemats for, for my in-law’s anniversary this year in July. 

We are not useless, no matter what mommy says.

Useless items that don’t have to fit, are fitting the bill for my useless mood.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Useless Knitting

  1. Mr. Puffy says:

    How much more useful can a pincushion be??? Plus a tea cozy tea makes a useful table decoration 🙂 It’s all how you look at things – LOL Love the idea of a woven table runner with place mats ~ great gift idea!

    • rebekahsyarn says:

      Well the pincushion is actually the next for a peep. The ladies in the office set out a peep from ash wednesday through easter so its really really stale and then they destroy the peep in some manner. So the peep needed a proper nest.

  2. Chris says:

    That tea set would make some little girl very happy, I bet – not so useless. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    They may be trouble at times, but they aren’t useless. 🙂 Hurray for useless knitting!

  4. Angel says:

    I love knitting useless stuff! It is often the most fun!!!!

  5. Kim says:

    I love the nest/pincushion!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Sometimes you need to do things for fun- that isn’t useless at all.

  7. Carrie#K says:

    I’m with Lorraine – you’ve got to have some fun! And it’s fun to knit up some things just for the sheer joy of knitting it.

    Also I didn’t realize how much I wanted a knitted birds nest complete with eggs. That is DARLING.

Leave a Reply

