How did this happen?

  • My name is Rebekah.
  • I used to be Becky.
  • I tried to be Beck for a while, but I wasn’t cool enough to pull it off.
  • Somewhere along the line I obviously matured into Rebekah. But in my head, I used to always think of myself as Becky.
  • If I was leaving a message with someone I was familiar with I also said extremely chipperly, Hi this is Becky (or Beck).
  • I left a message for someone I’ve known for quite a while yesterday, it was, Hi this is Rebekah. 
  • Somewhere in the last year I transformed into Rebekah.
  • Becky now seems foreign to me.
  • Does this mean I’m grown up?
  • Or just that I’ve been working in business long enough and using Rebekah as it sounded more businessy, that business has now become my identity?
  • My present, my future for the next many many months.

    I’m working away on mom’s tablecloth.  Each row already takes me about 40 minutes, and I’m only on row 90 something.  It’ll probably have at least 400 rows or so.  The stitches are teeny tiny.

  • Addi Lace needles and me, don’t get along.  I apparently have some sort of chemical that is causing a black mark to form on my finger where the needle rubs and its getting black marks on the tablecloth.
  • I am assured that these will come out in the wash.
  • I am going to switch to Addi Turbo’s as soon as I can remember to order them and find them in size 00.
  • We had a thunderstorm last night. 
  • Django did not like it.
  • He kept me up for hours.  No doubt he spent the rest of the day while I was at work sleeping to catch up on his rest.
  • I wish I could sleep like this.
About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How did this happen?

  1. Chris says:

    I hate Addi Lace needles. If I’m remembering, they’re brass, but not coated, so (to my extremely sensitive nose), they stink.

    But… I don’t believe that there are 00 Addi Turbos, so… not a lot of choices for 00 circulars. 😦 If you find some, let me know!!

  2. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- You have the type of name that can be shortened-

    I’ve never had an issue with the lace Addi’s but alot of people have that same problem.

  3. Bummer about the Addi Lace. I wear the coating off the Turbos, but it doesn’t seem to discolor my hands or yarn. I haven’t noticed a similar problem with the lace, myself, but I haven’t used them for a larger project yet either.

    Deb over at The Independent Stitch frequently uses really small needles as she knits very loosely. She might be able to point in the direction of 00 circs…

  4. kat says:

    Well of course your Becky to me. I’ve tried to go by Kathleen and can never pull it off. I guess it’s just too serious a name for a goofy person. Although I have been called Katrinka, Katerina, Katrina (no waves), Kath-a-leen Jellybean (Aunt Betsy) and of course, Kat.

    You have had several monikers over the last 38 years also such as: Rebby, Renie, Becky-Becky-Boom-Boom, Rotten Reb, hmm, I’m sure there were more.

  5. CatMyers says:

    You know, I’ve heard of that with the Addi Lace needles, but I’ve never had that reaction with them. Maybe the newer ones have some other “stuff” on them. I got one of the first ones, and then haven’t had the dough to buy more. I sure do love how pointy they are. Didn’t know they made them in size 00! So, did you mention what doily pattern you’re using and I’ve just somehow missed it?

Leave a Reply

