Babies, Babies, Everywhere

  •   My closest, and perhaps oldest constant friend is pregnant with their second child. Although truth be told I haven’t been the greatest friend as of late as I’ve been having an off many months, but hopefully over the course of the next few months I can rebuild our friendship.  Plus, I’m very excited for her and now have a new baby to knit for.  She’s not due till December so baby sex is unknown.
  •  I’ve picked out a baby blanket to knit for her that is done in double-knit – Reversible Celtic Patterns Baby Blanket.  When I was searching Ravelry the pattern stood out to me and caught my eye.  I’ve never knit double-knit so I’m excited about that, and bonus her and I (with her mother and aunts) went to Ireland together a few years back. 
  •  Since the pattern is complex (well a new technique and may take me a while) I’ve already ordered yarn in kelly green and white.  Plymouth Encore from Webs (its on sale right now).  I figure green and white is good for a boy or a girl.  I considered using less expensive yarn, but at $3.85, due to the anniversary sale, it wasn’t that much more than a big box craft store and Encore is much more enjoyable to knit with.
  •  I needed a break from my tablecloth and size 00 needles, and was in the baby mood this weekend, so decided to get a jump on a co-worker’s present.  A young attorney, who just recently was wed, is now expecting his first baby.  A boy.  And Tom (the attorney) is obsessed with argyle.  Enter the Baby Argyle Vest and Hat.    It was a super quick knit, I finished the vest and the hat in 3 days.  His wife isn’t due until Labor Day, so I will probably knit a matching set in the next larger size, since it was a very very quick knit. 
  •  I still haven’t decided what to do for the attorney at my office who is due in July and is a fellow knitter.  I was thinking of ordering her some Dale of Norway knitting books for children and babies.  A yarn store in the area (the Weaving Department) is having a big sale next Sunday, including 30% off books.  maybe I’ll head over there if i don’t have to work and try and find something. 
  •  All the storms that have rumbled through the area have made for some very sleepless nights with Django.  The poor guy has been scared silly.  Fortunately we have suffered no damage from the severe storms.  A tornado passed about a mile and a half south of the house, but fortunately there was no severe destruction, simply sheds and trees, no houses completely destroyed as they were in St. Louis. 
  •  Our backyard though is a complete swamp.  if it dries out in amonth I’ll be surprised

    I'll sleep now, as it'll storm later and make me upset.

    .

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Babies, Babies, Everywhere

  1. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- It’s fun to make something for a small person, isn’t it?

    Keep your chin up- I feel like I’m in the same boat.

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, that’s a cute little set!

    D’oh, my boss and his wife are expecting their third child any day and… I have done nothing. O.O

Leave a Reply

