There’s a Mouse in My House

It is true, well actually there are about 13 frozen mice in my freezer.  The intention is to take them to the World Bird Sanctuary as an edible donation.  Living adjacent to a field, we end up with field mice each year that run from the outside elements.  I think I picked up my wierdness from my mother.

But speaking of mice.  Friday Fun means it is time to share a toy. I think toys are possibly my favorite thing to knit.  I have a bunch of books of toys, and I haven’t knit near as many as I’d like.  I just recently purchased the new Spud & Chloe book.  I absolutely love Susan Anderson’s books, I own them all.  Her designs are so cute.  I really want to knit every single item in the Spud & Chloe book and make a cute farm for some little kid.  It’d better be for a child still in the womb though as I think it’ll take me a while.

Friday Fun Project Share: This week I fell in love with Matilda the Mouse by Mr. Puffy.  That has got to be the cutest mouse I’ve ever seen, and for some reason reminded me of the children’s book, The Secret of Nimh, I think Mrs. Frisby could have been this fashionable mouse at one point before her husband died. 

Super Model Bird

Anyway.  I cast on the second bib last night, and knit nearly the entire thing in about 3 hours.  Just have to do the i-cord ties and edging.  I quite possible could get the first one finished today at work, or nearly so.  I decided to just knit these up and be done with the obligation knitting.  This weekend I hope to finish up the blanket (except for the edging) that I’m weaving, so next week when I have a few days off I can warp the loom for more of the log-cabin project.  I actually need to do some figuring out on that though. Happy Friday every one.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There’s a Mouse in My House

  1. Chris says:

    LOL about the mice in the freezer! When I was in grad school (at a college of natural resources), the staff kitchen always had packages in the freezer marked “Not for human consumption” – they were frozen mice for a snake that lived in the Dept of Wildlife. 🙂

  2. Carrie#K says:

    That mouse is too cute!!

    Aww. The poor frozen mice. I assume that they came into your home, got warm and then died peacefully of old age? And if not, don’t tell me.

  3. Mr. Puffy says:

    Is that a wild parrot? It’s a beautiful photo.

    I don’t think you are weird at all. I personally have a bird’s nest in my freezer.

    And what a surprise to see a mention of my little mouse! I love knitting toys too 🙂

  4. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Oh yes, if you are a snake owner, you can get frozen “pinkies” and “Fuzzies”- which I can’t even bear to look at.

    We have Superworms for the dragons- and I can just about touch one of those. They’re beetle larvae. Yummmy!

Leave a Reply

