2011 Yarn Crawl – Stop 1 – The Loopy Ewe

The Loopy Ewe - Do you Know the Entrance Password?

Oh what fun I had on my Friday of Fun visiting 4 yarn stores in St. Louis.  It wasn’t that long ago that I realized that the acclaimed Loopy Ewe was in my city.  I was shocked, but unfortunately due to limited hours (after all I think she’s mainly an on-line store) I’ve never been able to visit.  So having a chance to visit there was wonderful.  I could have gotten lost in there for hours, and the staff leaves you alone so you really could get lost for hours.  But they were there when I needed help.

Sensory Overload!

I think the thing that impressed me most was the amount of hand-painted yarn.  I was overwhelmed by all the amazing colors.  I wanted to buy it all, and I seriously thought about it. But knowing I had 3 more stores to visit I restrained myself to some of Loopy’s yarn.  Choosing which colorway was hard! I wafffled for over a half an hour, I put yarn in my lovely little basket they give you to shop with, and I put it back, then I put it back in my basket, then back on the shelf.

An inviting Place to Sit

On this yarn crawl I had good intentions. I wanted to limit my yarn purchases to buy yarn to knit the story of Spud & Chloe, and at the Loopy Ewe they had the yarn.  But when I started adding up the costs to knit these toys, I realized that I was indeed insane.  Toys are wonderful, but luscious expensive yarn should be wrapped around you in a veil of comfort.  So, well, my plan went out the door in about 45 minutes.  But I have 4 new planned projects and lovely memories of my yarn crawl that will last me the year.  My Loopy Ewe purchase will be a shawl, and a cup to commemorate the start of my crawl, because I needed a good mug for coffee.

My Loppy Ewe Purchase

So the Loopy Ewe, I used google maps and made my route from my office (I had to drop off Pineapple Upside Down Cakes for an ALS bake sale), then I cranked the radio and headed out to my first destination.  I pulled up to the address, and it is an office building. Hmmmm….was I in the right spot?  I parked my car and went inside.  Yep, there on the sign, Suite 107, the Loopy Ewe.  I got to the door, and to get in you had to ring a bell. I felt like I was entering a secret society, a hidden den of yarn wonder, a speakeasy of yarn quite possibly.  And then you walk in to the most incredible sight, row after row after row of lovely colors and yarn of every type.  I felt like yarn was on prohibition and I had to have the secret password to get my yarn fix.  And no one outside that office space knew such a wonderous world existed behind that cold white door.  I felt like a child entering Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory.  I think it had been too long since I immersed myself in the world of yarn.  i can’t believe all the wonders I had lost by shopping mainly online in the last few years due to a heavy work load and crazy schedule.  It was fun having my yarny senses revived.

Next Up we stop at the Kirkwood Knittery!

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011 Yarn Crawl – Stop 1 – The Loopy Ewe

  1. Lorraine says:

    Wow Rebekah- Can I stand in your aura? I would love to go just once.

  2. Thanks so much for including us on your Yarn Crawl last week. I’m glad you popped by!

  3. Susan says:

    Oh, I want to visit The Loopy Ewe. I am in love with the yarn and the superior customer service – the best I’ve found in my 20+ years of knitting/yarn shopping. Thanks so much for the look inside.

  4. Lynn says:

    A speakeasy of yarn!!!! I LOVE that analogy! What great pics and NICE goodies…..

  5. Chris says:

    Oh, lucky you that the Loopy Ewe is so close! But dangerous…

Leave a Reply

