2011 Yarn Crawl – Stop 2 – Kirkwood Knittery

It is hard to tell, but those are flowers on the roof!

After my delightful visit to the Loopy Ewe, I headed to the Kirkwood Knittery.  It is about 4 miles from my first stop.  On my way I passed this fantastic nursery where every year they roof their building with flowers.  I took a quick picture, although it isn’t as magnificent as it will be in about 6 weeks.  It is a St. Louis oddity highlight.

So on to the Kirkwood Knittery.  As I drove there a very large storm was bearing down on the city.  But inside the Knittery was a pure delight.  It is a smaller store than some, but they have a wonderful selection, including skeined Zephyr.  I love Zephyr for making lace and was tempted to purchase for another shawl, but I have sooo much laceweight that I haven’t knit with.  There was a lesson being conducted with a little girl about 7.  Her grandmother had brought her there to learn from Brooke.  She was doing very well in her lesson.  A born knitter I think.  I couldn’t snap many pictures inside the store, as it was pretty small, and I didn’t want to take pictures of any guests and post them.  But I was really impressed with her button selection and this really cute little tree of felted booties, so I snuck some pictures of them.

I'm going back for buttons and clasps! As soon as I have something to close.

The store was manned by the owner and a lovely woman wearing a pink hat with a flower on it.  I don’t know her name, but I loved her pink hat. Although I kept expecting her to offer me a cup of tea, I think i watch too much British television.  There was also displayed a lovely capelet.  I really wanted to purchase the lucious silk yarn to knit it, but alas, i am not much of a pastel pink person and didn’t like the other colors available in the yarn right then.  But maybe one day.

Won't this make some awesome mittens!

After I purchased my yarn, some lovely course wool to make a new pair of mittens, I made way to Stop 3, Ewe Knit Yarns.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Yarn Crawl – Stop 2 – Kirkwood Knittery

  1. CatMyers says:

    How fun, Rebekah. Wish I was there to go with you!

  2. Lynn says:

    I see the flowers!!! What a cool idea! I’ve never seen anything like that before. Great yarn from this shop too. Is this a store run yarn crawl or did you put this together yourself?

Leave a Reply

