2011 Yarn Crawl – Final Stop – Knitorious

Knitorious

Last but not least I headed another few miles down the road and ended up at Knitorious.  Knitorious looked small on the outside, but inside it was quite impressive.  They have a great stock of yarn, all types, and several I had never seen before.  It was also very well organized and incredibly eye appealing.  In another room they had a nice sitting area and a wonderful pattern area to browse.  It reminded me of going when I was little to a fabric shop with my grandmother and sitting looking at patterns.  I only did that once or twice but the memory was ingrained firmly in my mind.  I was greatly impressed by the store and unfortunatley I figured out it is the closest to my work and I could easily get there and back on my lunch hour for a knitting emergency!  I bought a lovely pattern and yarn to make a cool shawl.  The Swirl Shawl.

What is it about a yarn store that makes you just sigh with happiness?

Once again the staff was lovely, left me alone when I wanted to be left alone, but there to help when I needed it.  I also couldn’t help but over hear the woman I took to be the owner and a patron talking about their parrots.  Apparently there is a connection in St. Louis between knitters and parrots.

Within a few mile circle on this trip last Friday I visited 4 very unique and 4 very fun stores.  All different, all interesting, and all fitting a particular need in the knitting community.  I think we are well endowed in St. Louis with knitting stores, as in a few hours I visited 4 really cool shops, and there are several more I didn’t visit on this one day including Hearthstone Knits and the Weaving Department.  And these are just in the St. Louis more typical area, when you discover the outskirts like the Metro East and surronding countryside in Missouri, we have many many more.  Now if we could just get an awesome fiber festival!

Melody for Swirl Shawl - I cast on that Friday and have 1 row of 9 complete!

Thursday I taught a co-worker to knit.  Monday I’m teaching her more, and there are a couple others who know want to learn however I question their integrity in their desire.  But we’ll see.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011 Yarn Crawl – Final Stop – Knitorious

  1. Chris says:

    Sounds like you had a great time on the yarn crawl! You like your yarn store staff like I do – mostly out of the way, unless I have a question. 🙂

  2. fleegle says:

    That looks like a glorious yarn store…and it sounds like you’ve been having fun crawling around 🙂

    Thanks so much for your compliment on my Jaali!

  3. Carrie#K says:

    Bring more into the fold. Excellent.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- You’re so lucky to have such amazing yarn stores close by.

  5. CatMyers says:

    Beautiful yarn store!! We have ONE LYS about 30 miles away. One. And it’s pretty small compared to yours. It’s always nice to go there though. The folks who work there make you feel like family without being too much in your way.

Leave a Reply

