Tuesday Two’s – Locks for Love

I was going to post about steeks for Method Monday, but realized as I was looking for an example of a sweater you would use steeks in that it is in fact, Tuesday.

I'm so odd.

So I did something on Saturday I haven’t done in nearly 16 years, I cut all my hair off.  Well okay not all of it, but I went from hair 1/2 way down my back (if not farther) to my chin.  I desperately needed a style to my hair and decided to cut it off to shoulder length, but then I decided to do something useful with all that hair and I had them cut it off to send in to Locks of Love.  So two ponytails are on their way to Florida.  I’m still not used to my new short hairdo, I like it one moment and hate it the next. 

For the Tuesday Two project I’ll share one of my works in progress. Tulip Mittens.  I didn’t really have a purpose for these, I like them, but don’t love them, so I think I’m going to gift them to a co-worker who is leaving us in August.  Her last day is August 20th, and I have one mitten done, and one to go.  It’ll be something for her to remember us by and well I also just taught her how to knit. 

Don't even think about interrupting lazy weekend.

For the long weekend, I didn’t do much.  I actually feel a little bad about that, I should have gotten something accomplished at my house but I’ve been feeling so blahsay lately, probably the heat, I hate heat.  I did get quite a bit of knitting done though.  I needed to weave and get the blanket I have on there off the loom, and my in-laws anniversary present on the loom (considering their anniversary was yeterday) but it just didn’t happen.  Maybe this coming weekend. At least the dogs enjoyed the lazy weekend.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday Two’s – Locks for Love

  1. CatMyers says:

    Good for you Rebekah remembering to save your hair for Locks of Love. I got so excited about whacking mine off I forgot to do that. Yours is cute! You should love it all the time. 🙂 It’s hot here too…like in the 100s. Uugh… Those mittens are way cool. I checked out some of the other kits they offer – and – one of these days…..

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Wow, that’s wonderful that you sent your hair to locks of love!!

    Taking some time off is wonderful. There has to be some unstructured down time to percolate your thoughts.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- You cut your hair!!!!

    I have a kit for the Oak Mittens- I love them. I can’t believe you’re giving those away.

  4. Lynn says:

    Good for you!!!! We just had friends do the same thing here. My hair just doesn’t grow that long anymore so no donations for me. I LOVE your new do. Very pretty. Oh and your dog is just too cute!!! I don’t think you could move him if you wanted!

  5. Susan says:

    I did the Locks of Love thing a few years ago and I actually kept the shorter hair for a couple of years before I started growing it longer. You will probably go back and forth for a while before you decide where you want your hair to be.
    I have the kit for those mittens, too, but I have not started them yet. I would love to know what you thought of the pattern.

  6. Chris says:

    Very cool about donating your hair! Your new ‘do looks cute!

Leave a Reply

