Herbert Niebling – Lets Discuss Lace

I cannot deny, I love lace. It calls to me in the night, it taunts me with its holes and knit togethers. It looks so complicated and yet is really so simple.

I have over the last couple of years collected the work of Herbert Niebling. He was an amazing lace artist. His designs are complex and beautiful. And his patterns are typically not available in English, which provides a whole new  challenge to the project. I recently knit Christel from Kunstrickmuster, although I have yet to block it. I take the written information and put it into Google translate and then come up with at least some form of what I’m supposed to do. Its actually quite fun. The funny thing is most knitting terms don’t translate the way we would want them to into English, but its enough to get the point and hopefully then knit the point.

Last year I knit Lyra for my in-laws anniversary present. It hooked me on large knit lace pieces, although I have yet to do another one, but sometime soon I hope.  My mother wants lace curtains and one of these days I’ll be up to the challenge. I hope.

Lyralyra 3

 

#lace #HerbertNiebling

 

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herbert Niebling – Lets Discuss Lace

  1. Lorette says:

    Good to “see” you back blogging! I have never done a Niebling, though that is definitely on my to-do list. it’s gorgeous. What yarn/thread did you use?

Leave a Reply

