Please Meet Helga

…now I wish Helga was a new puppy. But alas, she’s a spinning wheel.

my new wheelNick found her today at an antique mall in South County. $75. Now I’m always looking and hoping I’ll find an old wheel, or an old loom, when I go to antique malls but I never do. And if on the rare occasion I do, they are wheels that are not in operable condition (i.e. missing major components) and they always want in excess of $300. Really $300 for something that could never work, and while I love the look of a spinning wheel, its not exactly something that you just sit around your house as a decoration unless you live in a really big cabin or cottage I suppose. Although, come to think of it, my mom had an old spinning wheel as a decoration at our house when I was little, I constantly pinched my fingers in the thing.

Helga appears to be in working order, my husband checked her out and inspected her, and he knows a thing or two about spinning. She’s very small coming up (apparently because I haven’t actually seen her yet) to your knee. She fits in the front wheel well of my husband’s work van.

I can’t tell you how excited I am about her. I don’t know why, I have a perfectly nice new spinning wheel that I have not treated well and have not used as much as I should, but its our wedding anniversary Saturday and my husband picked this out for me on his own, and its fantastic, and someone threw my lunch away yesterday at work so this is just the perfect mood lifter.

So when I get home, I’m going to start oiling Helga up! Well after I inspect her. I have a feeling she’s going to need some tender loving attention and oil over the next several weeks.

And because I’m in an exceptionally good mood now, here are my sweet boys.

Abner the sweetThe sweetest (well next to the sweetest) dog there ever was. Notice the tiny bit of gray showing up on his muzzle now. He’ll be 10 this October.

And then there’s the Django Boy.

Django boyHe’s annoyed that I want my seat back.

 

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Meet Helga

  1. lorraine says:

    Rebekah- Django looks seriously annoyed.

    That’s a lovely wheel, and I agree with you, they are made to be used.

  2. monica says:

    Hi Rebekah! I’m so happy you are posting again! I have missed you. and Basil and Abner and Django. They look great! And so do all of your knits!

Leave a Reply

