My Yarn Vacation

So while I sit for hours in the courtroom, waiting for my piece of the “play” I have a lot of time to think and contemplate things.  Much of my day is spent getting exhibits and deposition video clips ready for presentation, organizing, and scrambling to actually make deposition clips, but it still leaves me quite a bit of time for contemplation. 

So as I sit here and contemplate life, work, dogs, chickens in bikinis, bike riding, yarn, I’m also planning my vacation I intend to take in March.  It will be my “Yarn Vacation”.  I still have 80 hours of PTO (paid time off) time from 2009 I haven’t taken, and I lose it at the end of June.  So I intend to take a week off in March and then another week off towards the end of May or early June.  Unless I get sick and use my time as sick time.  But even so each pay period I gain another 5 hours of time off.  So by the end of April I’ll have another 40 hours.   Nick doesn’t have any time off, so its a week to myself.  Thus he perfect opportunity for a Yarn Vacation.

Anyway, when spring/summer hits I won’t have as much time for knitting or projects because bike riding will begin again, and I’ll be concentrating on training for our bike ride across Missouri this fall.  So I figured the best thing I could do with 40 hours of vacation is take a “Yarn Vacation.”

 So I sit here  listening to attorneys ramble on and on about a very boring ERISA case which is about money, numbers, and a lot of other things I really don’t have that much interest in, my mind wanders to planning the next phase of my year once my release from captivity has occurred. 

I had first decided that due to all the overtime hours, and thus overtime pay, I am receiving I would treat myself to purchasing Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift for Katherine of Argon from Tudor Roses.  But the more I thought of spending my 1:00 a.m. and still working money on a sweater that would cost about $500 I just realized that it would not be in the spirit of this trial which is about the wise use of funds.  So I began to an analytical analysis of the “limit of reasonableness” of the funds available and the quantity of other yarn I’d be able to purchase for the same price and either spend less, or get a larger quantity of projects which would thus lead to more time spent and a better economical outcome for the yarn yardage to dollar spent. 

Seriously I’ve spent way to much time around expert witnesses and attorneys the last 6 weeks. 

I thought about graphing it out, writing a report, doing some in-depth research.  And then I realized that the time I could spend doing that, I could just order yarn online.  And it just happened that yesterday I got an e-mail from Knit Picks with this really interesting looking afghan kit that looks like a quilt.  And then I saw that Pallette yarn is now available in 88 colors, true not even near Jamieson’s 199 for Spindrift, but still a could quantity.  And for $2.19 I could purchase the same amount of yarn that would cost me $10.50.  So I splurged ordered the afghan kit (I know I have 3 other afghans on the needles right now that need to be finished, but I’m a sucker for a kit from Knit Picks) and ordered myself color cards of Pallette and Telemark to see if I could find colors in Pallette that would make a nice version of Katherine of Argon and the Telemark color card so if I couldn’t I could look at making another Dale. 

Happy Brothers

You may be asking yourself, what is a Yarn Vacation?  The Yarn Vacation is currently in the planning phase and I’ve thought of a couple of variations.  The version I’m leaning towards each day picking a project and working on that.  Each day a new project to work on.  I could work one day on each of my afghans, a day for a doily, a day on Elizabeth, a day on a toy, a day on a shawl, etc.  Not trying to finish anything, just having fun working on different things.  The days will begin with coffee, have lots and lots of movies and/or Stargate episodes, and have hot tea, and wine, and cheese, and all things that equate a vacation at home where you don’t leave your couch.  After being away from my home essentially for two months, I do not plan to leave the house, I will run no errands, I will do no chores (except maybe cook dinner for Nick – since he normally cooks dinner for me every night), and I will completely indulge in my passion of knitting.   Pure relaxation , and after the end of 2009 and the beginning of 2010 consisting of work weeks of over 95 hours a week,  I will definitely need it!

Also, of course, there will be lots and lots of puppy snuggles.  I can hardly wait.  In fact I might decide to take it in February.  But most likely the first or second week of March.  The first week of March I do have one doctor’s appointment (just routine) so I’m not sure if I’ll take my vacaton that week and accept the fact I will have to leave the house once.  Or take it the next week.  So many decision to think about relaxation, but after two months of hectic no relaxation, I think I’m just more than happy to plan my relaxation.

About rebekahsyarn

Knitter and Spinner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Yarn Vacation

  1. Lifesastitch says:

    I think I have one of those vacations most every weekend, and my house shows it 😉

  2. Jeanne says:

    A yarn vacation sounds perfect – I hope you get to take it soon! Looking forward to hearing what you are going to do for the Katherine sweater….

  3. Sonya says:

    I love the idea of yarn vacation. You deserve it! A couple of people in the Henry VIII KAL on Ravelry used Palette and their colorway looked pretty good.

  4. kathy says:

    A yarn staycation! Pure indulgence and yet inexpensive (since the purchases that make it possible are spread out). I am also planning a similar do-not-leave the house vacation for March. I feel as if I haven’t had a decent break from work to get other aspects of my life in order and am much looking forward to time off. Of course, when I read of your captivity, I feel as if I have it easy. May yarn calculations help this week to pass more quickly!

  5. Chris says:

    Is the end in sight for your trial?! I’d be totally looking forward to time off, too.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Rebekah- I can totally relate. My mind often wanders mentally through my stash, especially when someone is annoying me.

    Get sonething that totally rocks your world.

  7. Angel says:

    Dude!!! I so want a yarn vacation!!! It sounds wonderful and like a fabulous idea!

  8. Sydney says:

    Is this trial ending soon? The yarn vacation sounds wonderful after all of those weeks away from home with this trial. I think I would want to stay inside for a week too.

  9. Brigitte says:

    Ooooo, I think whatever you decide to make Katherine of Aragon from will be wonderful! I have a mini-vacation coming up soon, and all I want to do is knit! And sleep.

  10. Robin says:

    Your Yarn Vacation sounds wonderful!!!! You so totally deserve a week to do what you want after being held captive for so long.

Leave a Reply

